Let the gamers out of their darkened bedrooms?

It’s interesting that Ordnance Survey have released their OpenData in Minecraft format. Perhaps this might get some spotty teenagers out of their bedrooms and they may realise what an interesting REAL world we actually live in.  However, I doubt it will persuade many parents that the real world may actually be safer than the online world these days.  Am I being cynical?  I don’t think I could ever be called a Luddite, I love useful technology, and even have an appreciation that the online world itself provides an interesting new ‘space’ for geographers to explore and map, but I also constantly renew my interest in the world around us and its infinite complexity.

— Bruce

Leave a Reply

